Skip to content

Flashback Friday: St. Patrick’s Day

March 19, 2010

Good evening ladies! How was everyone’s Friday? My Spring Break (and break from Work) is over. I only have two more days. So sad.

I had a wonderful day today. I got to sleep in and then did some exercise at home. Yes, I did a workout video. I really wasn’t feeling like making my way to my the gym near my mom’s house. Last time I was there, my car got broken into. On Christmas Eve…at the start of the biggest blizzard in Oklahoma in a long time. (Speaking of blizzards, it was 70 degrees here today, and is supposed to snow at least 6 inches tomorrow. Oklahoma is crazy).

So, I pulled out a video I had never done before. Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred.

I tend to be somewhat of an exercise snob. I even tend to look down upon exercise videos, simply because I have never found one that I liked. But not this one. It kicked my booty and got me sweaty. Me, thinking Im a Fitness Rock star, did the Level 3 workout. It was very do-able but I got a great workout and I loved it. I even did jump lunges–which I know Susan hates.

All in all, I loved it. It was about 20 minutes long. Combined a little bit of strength, cardio, and abs. Short, sweet, and to the point. Just the way I like it.

After that I went to Sam’s with my mom and got some amazing berries. I am SO happy that it is summer. I could sit and eat berries all day long. She got a ton because we made fresh blackberry cobbler tonight which was delicous. It made the house smell delicious too.

The rest of the night will be filled with relaxation and gearing up for tomorrow…the big snow storm. I also have a little photoshoot with my boyfriend. He has some studio space tomorrow so he will be setting up the backdrop, putting up the lights and practicing his photography skills on moi. I’m a little nervous…hope I can relax and give him some good shots!

*Sorry for the lack of shots today, just didn’t have my camera out much*

However, I do have a Flashback for you. I went through my old computer today and came across some old pictures so I figured I could finally do a little Flashback for you from my college days. I don’t have many pictures, but there are a few from St. Patty’s Day past.

My craziest St. Patrick’s Day was with my best friend Ashley from college. It was our Freshman year and we decided to go to the Big Apple. We were out strollin the town when we met two “older” (prob like 23-24) guys from Ireland. They were on vacation. We thought it was meant to be..Irish guys on St. Patrick’s Day…what could be better?! So, we spent the night with them barhopping to many different Irish Pubs in New York City drinking car bombs, green beer, and Long Island Iced Teas. Illegally I might add. Then, we woke up the next morning with a complete hangover and went and had brunch. We felt so Sex & The City.

This was before all the drinking and barhopping with Irishmen..this was when we got lost on the Subway.

I was 19 in that picture. Ah, to be young again. Haha j/k. Now I could barhop legally…the irony is I don’t even have the urge to now :).

Flashforward a few years to my first St. Patrick’s Day with Sean. We went out to a bar and basically just drank with his friends. He had a mohawk at this time and of course got lots of attention.

Gotta love the "end of the night" drunk eyes

Young Drunk Love right there.

This year my St. Patrick’s Day was much tamer. Craziest thing I did was add an extra cup of Spinach to my smoothie to try to be a little festive. I’m quite the crazy one.

Since yesterdays “Would you Rather” was so fun…I thought I’d do another one.

Would you rather have super powers or have Christmas never end?

I’d rather have superpowers. That’s an easy one. Question is…what kind of superpowers? That’d be harder. I’d want to be able to fly or be invisble.

What do you think of exercise videos?

Last day to enter the notecard giveaway! I am drawing tomorrow at noon C.S.T.

21 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2010 10:01 pm

    I love The Shred! And am the same as you- it’s one of the first workout videos I ever liked. But you started at Level 3? Such a bad ass! :)

    Sorry about the incoming snow… grossness.

    • March 19, 2010 10:04 pm

      Haha, about halfway through level 3 I thought…hmmm maybe I shouldn’t have done this. But, I figured I only had 10 miniutes left. Just push through it.

  2. March 19, 2010 10:03 pm

    So glad you liked the Shred!!! I love Jillian! It kicks my butt every. single. time. ;)

    Have a great weekend!!

  3. March 19, 2010 10:06 pm

    I’m a huge fan of workout videos!! Jillian’s are my favorites right now. I love Boost Your Metabolism the most! Can you believe I’ve still never done level 3 of the shred?? I am still too chicken, but hopefully I’ll get there in the next month! ;)

    That blackberry cobbler looks so divine!! :)

  4. March 19, 2010 10:09 pm

    HAHAHAHAHA i just published my post and it has THE EXACT SAME TITLE! loved your flashback!

    that cobbler is EPIC! oh and no lie, i used the word “moi” in my post. this is TOO WEIRD!

  5. March 19, 2010 11:30 pm

    1 extra handful of spinach — i LOVE it! No worries waking up hangover free is such a great feeling

  6. Fattie Fatterton permalink
    March 20, 2010 4:36 am

    I thought that since I work out regularly I would be able to do the Shred, no problem. But I quickly died during Level 1. Plus, we live on the 2nd floor and all of the moving around probably wasn’t making my neighbor too happy. I’m going to wait until I’m in better shape to try it again.

    Awww, your pics are so cute!! You guys are such a handsome couple. :D

  7. Sunny permalink
    March 20, 2010 6:30 am

    hey lisa!

    i do the jillian michaels workouts every once in awhile and i gotta admit she is good!.. her workout is to the point as you said and it gets you pumped for sure!

    love the’re so pretty girly!

    enjoy the weekend :)

  8. March 20, 2010 6:48 am

    Superpowers. I wonder what though. If there were something where I could “exist and do any work or job that I desired without having to have the money and debt …etc etc” know what i mean?
    like live ANYWHERE (move) and work at what I WANT ….and the reason i cant now is cuz of debt and stuck in a career i hate…

    ooops, off track :)

    cute pics…and nice cobbler :)

  9. March 20, 2010 7:36 am

    I have done that on Comcast before. It’s a really good sweat.

    Young drunk love….oh yeah!

  10. March 20, 2010 8:16 am

    I LOVE my exercise DVDs and am a total snob about the ones I choose, It’s Cathe Friedrich all the way. She totally rocks and will kick your butt like no one else can. Seriously. I use her DVDs for both cardio and weight lifting (though lately I’ve been lifting without watching the DVDs).

  11. March 20, 2010 9:44 am

    I’m a total dvd snob. I like Jillian’s Shred though! I’ve only done Level 1 though. I need to kick it up a notch next time.

    The cobbler looks amazing as do your flashback photos! I love your boyfriends hair!

    Have a fun photoshoot and I hope the snow isn’t as bad as they’re predicting!

  12. March 20, 2010 9:56 am

    Aww cute pics! Hmmm that’s a tough one. I realllly like Christmas.

  13. Danielle permalink
    March 20, 2010 10:15 am

    haha the end of the night drunk eyes = good time…no? ;)

    I’ve only done Jillian’s shred once and it was harder than I thought! I have a love/hate relationship with it

    I would def. rather have superpowers. More specifically, the ability to transport to and from places in the blink of an eye

  14. March 20, 2010 10:36 am

    Shredding + Retta = booty getting kicked. I love that workout! Jillian’s other DVDs are killer as well.

    But the big question is: do you have any cobbler left for me? ;0)

  15. Denise permalink
    March 20, 2010 11:44 am

    Well, I think I would like super powers but I don’t know which one. I will have to think about that. The Blueberry Cobbler was delicious and it was very easy to make.

  16. March 20, 2010 2:21 pm

    Jump lunges kill my soul. But I totally agree with your review of the Shred! I’m a little overly confident with fitness DVDs and it definitely put me in my place. Such basic moves that so many DVDs seem to disregard!!

    I’m a scrooge, so super powers all the way!

  17. March 20, 2010 4:34 pm

    So would rather have super powers. I love Christmas and all, but I like how its once a year to look forward to it.

    And workout videos – I am a total snob about them too. And I used to be a snob about certain classes even. But now I know they can give killer workouts. For home videos – Cathe is the best to kill you.

  18. March 21, 2010 2:38 pm

    I love the Shred. I need to dust it off again. Love the throwback pics!!

    Definitely superpowers.

  19. hayleycepeda permalink
    March 23, 2010 12:42 pm

    I LOVE flashback pics! You guys look so cute.. :) I haven’t done JM’s Shred videos, but I’ve heard nothing but good things. I tend to feel the same way about exercise videos, plus I find I am more motivated when I’m working out around other people (who are actually in the same room as me!)

    I would definitely rather have super powers!! You’re right though..what kind?? I’ve always wanted to be able to fly…


  1. flashback to flashbacks & a binge shopping « I'm An Okie

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

